Ancient Greece, art, poetry, rhyme, Sonnet

Epimeliad (A Sonnet)

Your lips votive of the kisses I would plant

On your lips as sweet as mint and sugar

In a hearty cup of tea that, alas, can’t

Sooth the awful lust my heart does auger

 

O charming Epimeliad the longer

You evade my amorous arms

The more you ensure my love grows stronger

The more you will engender my stalwart charm

 

I long for the supple apples ‘tween your arms

The sense of your name and your holy trust

These aromatic treasures must meet no harm

Protect them from the ruin of earthly lust

Your intentions as pure as your hair is sallow

Your blood is worthy, as rich as tallow

Standard

Leave a Reply

