Basketball, Sports

NBA Playoff Picks 2013

heatthunder

As I write I am also watching the first game of Lakers/Spurs playoff series. I have been a life long viewer of NBA basketball, and a die-hard Chicago Bulls fanatic. I have watched their games since I was a toddler back in the earlier 90’s and I even got to attend a Bulls home game at the Mad House during the 98′ championship season. I got to see Jordan take apart the Detroit Pistons back when that team was one to be reckoned with.

So I suppose you could say I like basketball.

Today I still watch the Bulls regularly, especially home games when the great and hilarious Stacey King announces on CSN in Chicago, but now I also watch other teams that appeal to my interest in the sport. Principally the Oklahoma City Thunder and their one day hall of famer Kevin Durant, the Boston Celtics, and the newly moved and newly dynamic Brooklyn Nets. All the teams having amazing rosters and play the game with verve and skill. It really is a new golden age of basketball!

And now for my choices for the NBA Playoffs…this will be a little painful for me as my Bulls are in it this year and are, well, sucking air.

First the West:

Oklahoma City will take apart the “Lucky just to be Nominated” Houston Rockets and they will then move on to face the victorious Clippers in the next round. Chris Paul will make this a close series but in the end OKC will prevail and move on to play the victorious Spurs in the Western Conference Finals. Memphis is overrated and lucky in their opponents during the regular season and the Lakers just will not be able to get any further with a lackluster “Superman” Howard and an injured Kobe. Golden State will be a non-entity. The WCF will end in game 7 with an OKC victory and the young team will make its second appearance in the finals in as many years.

Now the East:

The all but unstoppable Miami Heat super-squad will annihilate the Bucks (who I think may be a force to be reckoned with if they make a few more good acquisitions during the off season) and then the surprisingly competent Brooklyn Nets to make it the Eastern Conference Finals. As much as it pains me to say this my Bulls have to many injuries and with Derrick Rose doing his best impression of a bench warmer they just do not stand a chance against the Nets. Game one of their series showed me how far the Bulls need to go. First step, new super-star…

Indiana will defeat Atlanta in a close series and move on to face Carmelo Anthony and the New York Knickerbockers in the next round. The Knicks will pull through and move on to face the Heat in the ECF. It will be a hard fought series but in the 6th or 7th game the Heat will pull through and go on to the finals to face the opponent they defeated last year, Oklahoma City.

And the final verdict:

The Heat will fall in 6 games to the Thunder and the all time finals series will become a 1-1 tie. This will set up what I think will be a tie breaker final next year…which I also believe the Thunder will win. But there is always the Bulls…a Chicago guy can hope.

Standard

10 thoughts on “NBA Playoff Picks 2013

  1. Joe 'Blondie' Manco says:

    I’m also a Bulls fan. Noah is a beast, Butler is a great up-and-comer and nothing needs to be said of Rose’s capabilities.

    They’ve been in a sad state the last 2 seasons with all the injuries. Which is a real shame because healthy I do think they are good enough to win it all, although more so with last year’s team than this year’s. Game 1 against the Nets was just painful to watch.

    Hopefully next year will be better. Rose-Butler-Deng-Boozer-Noah as the starting 5, add a decent backup C and 3 point threat, combined with Gibson, Belinelli and Robinson off the bench and it’s all good. Hinrich and Hamilton are expendable. My 2 cents.

    • Joe 'Blondie' Manco says:

      I also like the Nets too (just not when they’re playing the Bulls). In addition to their team being solid I like their black/white colour scheme, and their court and jersey designs are awesome. The atmosphere at Game 1 was intense.

      • nme16 says:

        That game was INSANE. And I honestly think the Nets now have the chance to become a really respected and beloved team. They did not have the support in New Jersey that they now have in Brooklyn.

      • Joe 'Blondie' Manco says:

        I have no problem with him sitting out the season, just wish they’d stop being so ambiguous about it. I stopped thinking he was going to return this season quite a while ago. Now they may only have 3-4 games left to bring him back anyway. Even if they did I hardly see him rallying the rest of the team to victory in their present state. Off-season is key, Noah can recover properly, Deng can get some serious rest, Rose will have no excuse not to play, and championship aspirations can resume. I could go on and on but I imagine you share a lot of my sentiments.

        I agree about the Nets too, I never gave a shit about them when they were in New Jersey.

      • nme16 says:

        I think that the Bulls have POTENTIALLY one of the best squads in the NBA but they really have to address the injury issue and they need to be less hard to get about when their players come back to play from the injury list

  2. Hi there, simply changed into aware of your weblog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate when you continue this in future. Many people shall be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  3. I was just seeking this info for some time. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your website. I wonder what’s the lack of Google strategy that do not rank this type of informative websites in top of the list. Usually the top sites are full of garbage.

  4. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is great, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about NBA Playoff Picks 2013 | L’Ennemi .

  5. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about NBA Playoff Picks 2013 | L& .

Leave a Reply

