Love, poetry

Behold Me

cabeza de vaca andres serrano

Behold me and it behoves me to speak
It’s remarkable how much I loved you
Though I suppose mine’s not the love you sought
Remember me now that I am through

Traveling that brambled path towards your heart
I so often stumbled and lost my way
And myself in the pursuit, so I started
To see my life was to steep a price to pay

I am alone now but no longer lost
My heart is heavy but I will not sink
Into saddness or grief over the past
You were never worth the trouble, Methinks

Standard

Leave a Reply

