poetry

Live Without Despair

Wild_Turkey_-_Sportsman_and_Naturalist_in_Canada

I wept for a year too long

Forgetting I had so little time to spare

Now I realize I have no tears left to shed

And that my sorrows are dulled enough to bear

Whoever said time heals all wounds was wrong

A fully mended heart is all too rare

I no longer feel like I am dead

Life can be cruel but in the end it’s often fair

The breeze sings me a soothing song

And ruffles my unkempt hair

And I am not alone in my bed

It seems sadness and I have a few more nights to share

I believe now that I am strong

And for myself once again I care

I’m coming to terms now with the thoughts in my head

I shall soon be able to live without despair

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

