poetry

Idolatry

Almeida_Júnior_-_Saudade,_1899

bow before what I can’t see

an itch that galls eternally

a doubt that binds my mind and heart

and a nervous scold who won’t depart

rancid thoughts that roll and shred

a rot that spreads inside my head

Quell me now so I can sleep

A moments rest from eyes that weep

A respite from that primeval moan

when I’m in company, alone

I whisper to myself “I might”

but feel that I can’t set it right

At night my soul a desert land

filled with doubts as much as sand

I’ve made false idols of my fears

sacrificed to them my nonpareil years

Melancholia is none too kind

when in residence within my mind

Saudade the name of companions past

a long lost someone, an iconoclast

that hapless friend who lost their way

who once helped keep my tears at bay

that hapless friend who lost their way

who once helped keep these tears at bay

Standard

One thought on “Idolatry

  1. Love the painting. Who is it done by and what is the name of the painting?
    Saudade, had to look that up. I wondered about the difference between saudade and acedia, but they are really quite different.

Leave a Reply

