Ancient History, Buddhism, poetry

Marajit/War in the North

yang-guifei-mounting-a-horse-1300

these feelings

afflict me constantly

like a persistent chest cold

and there is Mara

and Mara has power over my dreams

I am not hungry enough

I do not embrace agony

 

Ān Shǐ Zhīluàn

and the lord of

the middle kingdom

loses the mandate

of heaven to

Trisong Detsen

of that backwater

Tubo

 

he is without place and without

rage

but he is vengeful

and spiteful

and craves the wine

of life

a god of indigo and honey

Mara

has suzreignity

over my nightmares

thunder

in a blight red sky

 

the beleaguered Tang

rage against

the Xuanzong Emperor

for his

credulousness

regarding those he

trusted

in the North

why must the Middle Kingdom

suffer for one Emperor’s folly?

Standard

Leave a comment